Challenge: completed.

Pretty sure any type of movement tomorrow is going to be completely out of the question but it was totally worth it, let me tell you.

ImageForget the bragging rights and the tuxedo-clad SF fireman that hands you a Tiffany’s necklace as you cross the finish line and some may say there’s no reason to pay $150 to wake up at 5:30AM and run 13.1 miles across San Francisco. But they’re wrong. At least, to me, they’re wrong.

About a year and a half ago, I sat in a chair and couldn’t get up. I watched my legs turn to jello as the wheelchair I sat in became an extension of my body. I learned how to roll up hills, how to maneuver myself through tight corners and how to rely in the kindness of strangers. But in those four months, and the three months of crutches and physical therapy that followed, I also learned that I had taken my mobility for granted. Sure, I played tennis in high school and went to the gym every once in a while but on a scale from sluggish couch potato to olympic athlete, it’s safe to say I identified with the sluggish couch-potato on more days than not.

So, when my doctor gave me the green-light to walk again, I signed up for a half-marathon both to celebrate my freedom from the chair and to commemorate the start of a new, healthier chapter.*

So, as I sit here rocking a blister the size of a shiny quarter and soreness in places I never knew existed, I’m pretty sure it’s safe to say that the half-marathon kicked my ass but…

It was totally worth it.

*Disclaimer to keep me honest – lbr, I’m still going to eat hot cheetos

Leave a Reply

