Over the weekend: At a Falafel Drive-in

I don’t know about you but I absolutely love the Food Network. It’s my go-to network when I’m looking for a new recipe to try, it’s my go-to network when I just want to watch something on TV and can’t decide what, it’s my go-to network when I’m doing work but need a bit of background noise/entertainment, it’s my go-to network for… well, everything.

(my go-to network used to be the Disney Channel but it’s getting harder and harder for me to relate to pre-teen troubles doused in glitter and neon zebra print pants. But that’s me veering off topic. Let’s focus on the Food Network and the Falafel Drive-in.)

So when my cousin came in to town and suggested we try a Falafel Drive-in, my thoughts immediately went to Guy Fieri’s show Diners, Drive-ins and Dives and I was in.  image

We drove over to San Jose and the whole time I kept thinking, “How cool would it be if this were a, to use one of Guy’s favorite words, ‘joint’ seen on the show?

Obviously I didn’t do my research because his face? Was everywhere.

image

Guy on the side

image

Guy in the back

& Guy next to the window when you order (not pictured. Totally forgot to take a picture of this one but I promise you, it’s there.)

Is that cheating? (read: a cheeseball way to flag down hungry drivers and get them to try your food?) You can spot Guy’s face in at least 3 different places at this drive-in. It’s like a really bad game of Where’s Waldo? 

Whatever it is, it works because by the time we finished ordering our food, there was a line wrapped around the corner filled with people waiting for this:

image

I know that isn’t the most glamourous photo (and it basically solidifies the fact that I have no future as a food photographer) but that’s exactly what I got when I ordered the falafel sandwich.

Sadly, this joint was not the bees knees. The sandwich was a soggy, hot mess drenched in mayonnaise, hot sauce, limp lettuce and over fried falafels.

Lesson learned: The joints on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives may appear better on the show than they do in person and never trust a place that plasters a guy’s face all over its walls.

Leave a Reply

