Burgers in enemy territory

imageIt started off innocently enough (these things usually do). A friend just moved in to town for a summer gig at a hotshot law firm and we were going to grab lunch to celebrate/gossip/hang out.

I could’ve suggested something nearby, I could’ve stayed within my comfort zone, but instead, I decided to yelp someplace fancy, funky and fun.

After all, if all we wanted were some burgers and fries, we were going to have to rely on the ambiance and cafe decor to set the vibe.

And what’s fancier, funkier and funnier than a place called Tootsies?

So I hopped in the car and drove toward Tootsies. The weather was amazing, the radio tunes were rockin’ and it was a great drive without a bump in the road …until the navigation told me to get off at University Avenue… Stanfurd’s University Avenue.

As a Berktown girl through-and-through, exiting University Avenue is like stepping in to enemy territory. What can I say? I’m loyal to the grunge and the hippie culture that made me who I am (and left me with some pretty hilarious college memories)

But how can you hate a cafe as cute as this? image
I think my Berktown friends may need to stage an intervention for me soon because that cafe was bomb.com and had amazing food.

Could it be that the this Berktown girl is going soft? Could it be that this low-tech girl is being lured away from her Berktown roots by the bougie cafes and chain-store restaurants that populate Palo Alto?

Help!

Leave a Reply

