“I’m leaving”

It’s amazing what two little words can do to change the vibe of an entire room.

I went in to the office this morning thinking it would be a normal day in Tech Town. Then I checked my email and saw that my manager scheduled a last minute, 30 minute team meeting at 10:30AM on everyone’s calendar.

I thought to myself, “Cool.  The normally scheduled team meetings are always a blast. This’ll be fun.” No red flags went off in my brain and I went about the rest of my morning routine.

Rookie mistake. 

At 10:30, everyone in our team grabbed our laptops and headed toward the conference room. Temp Friends and I were oblivious. We thought it was going to be a normal, run-of-the-mill team update sort of meeting but it wasn’t. We settled in to our chairs, started making small talk and then the star of the impromptu 30 minute meeting showed up. My manager popped his head in to the room, checked to make sure everyone he invited was there, plopped down and said “I’m leaving.”

Just like that.

I’m pretty sure my jaw involuntarily dropped a little bit when I heard him say it. Surely he hadn’t finished his sentence and meant to say “I’m leaving…early today” or “I’m leaving…for a 2 week vacation in the Bahamas.” There’s no way he meant “I’m leaving the company.” But he meant it.

And just like that, folks, I witnessed my first resignation.

The real world just got a bit more real.

Leave a Reply

