Challenge accepted.

Looks like I’ll be running a half-marathon in October! I’d be lying if I said I’m not nervous. When I heard that NWM participants would be chosen in a random drawing, I have to admit, part of me was secretly hoping that my name wouldn’t be chosen. I’ve never enjoyed running and 13.1 miles seems like an insane amount of running for a girl whose short legs don’t usually carry her very far for very long (Let’s face it, I’d probably one of the first tributes killed in The Hunger Games)

But, when I opened my email this morning and saw the congratulatory email for being selected to voluntarily run 13.1 miles (man oh man, what have I done??), I was super excited for a split second and then the nerves kicked in. How is a girl who hates running going to spend at least 2.5 hrs running up and down the streets of San Francisco? Where does a girl like that even begin to start taking on a challenge like this? Who in their right mind thought running 13.1 miles would be a good way to celebrate being out of a wheelchair? Oh right, me.

Luckily, a good friend of mine (and fellow NWM 2012 participant) talked me down from my panic attack (all right, calling my reaction a “panic attack” may be a bit on the melodramatic side but you know what I mean) and reminded me how awesome I’m going to feel when I complete the 13.1 miles.

It’s been a while since I’ve challenged myself like this.

NWM is going to be good for me. I can feel it. After all, I did write on my application “I run to be strong.”

But hey, if somewhere down the line that’s not enough motivation for me, I guess I can focus on the fact that a Tiffany’s necklace is waiting for me at the finish line.

Did I mention that it’ll be handed to me by a fireman in a tuxedo?

Leave a Reply

